email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
and in other news...
04:24 Fri 2 May 03

Well, it would help if I'd write up and post the rest of April, wouldn't it.

Hmm.

• I'm annoyed that I haven't been writing down my dreams (in detail) lately coz I've had some real beauties, including a rather epic one on, I think, Tuesday, where I was interacting with characters from Blake's 7 as if they were real people. That was so cool. =) Oh, but then it got weird later when I encountered a young Tom Baker in his Dr Who garb (but minus the coat & hat for some reason) and I wanted to check his left ear to see if there was an earring there. I was pretty sure there wouldn't be but I had to check anyway... and there was! I looked at him with, I guess, some kind of amazement, and he grinned and laughed and I "knew" that meant that H was somehow cloned from Tom Baker, except not an exact clone because there's no resemblance really except for the height. And then it got kinky because he somehow "was" H and we were hugging and kinda grinding together and ...er... yeah.

Weird.

And in another dream around the same time I was outside somewhere suburban at dusk and I was doing something something which I now forget but I looked up and saw some bats flying around. "Nice batty bats," I said, which is something I say IRL when I see bats (because I'm, um, batty? Heh). There was a flock of them swirling around in the sky looking all photogenic an' stuff. ;) I looked down, then up again, and there were only two, and they were huge - the smaller one would have been about the size of a basketball court and I have no idea how big the other one was. They were flying maybe 50 feet off the ground. They still had bat-type heads but their bodies had turned into some kind of sea creature thingy (I've been trying to remember what kind exactly but the closest I can come is some kind of stingray, but without the sting) - kinda grey-green skin with black spots and they undulated, and this is how they flew around. It seemed perfectly normal at the time. One yawned at me and made a screechy-howly sorta noise and I wondered if I should be afraid.

And one more, the only other one I can remember with any clarity - I was in my room at my parents' first house and I was meant to be tidying (oh, the story of my life!). Both my parents were there and for some reason Carl was there too. I was prevaricating and my mother was angry, and I was avoiding my father. I left the room briefly and when I came back Carl was ridiculing various things like my old baby rocker and saying what trash they were and how I shouldn't be allowed to keep so much junk. I had to keep running around the room protecting things he was kicking at so he wouldn't break them. When I next turned around I found my parents had "tidied" my room while I was busy dealing with Carl, and they'd moved or thrown out so much stuff I couldn't find things I knew I'd had to hand earlier that day (or recently, IRL).

I'm sure all these dreams mean something but I probably don't want to know exactly what.

• Back on April 4th I was musing on the matter of diary reviews. Sometime after that I decided to face my fear and got queued for curve reviews and orange reviews, thinking two was plenty to start with (and one at diaryland, one at diary-x). Both are pretty well backlogged so I figure I should be back to regular updates by the time they get around to doing me. :) Requesting a review from moo-review was an impulse decision based on the fact that I love cows. ;)

Anyway.

On the 6th I decided I would like to do my own reviews site, but because of the way I approach such projects it wouldn't suit me to do it at diaryland (or d-x) and so I would need "real" space, and because I hate horrid ads I decided I was prepared to pay for space (rather than spend forever trying to find a private host who would be willing to take on a diary reviewer), so I hunted down an apparently suitable place and signed up.

Subdomain, 50Mb, catch-all email, regular FTP, etc. Pretty basic.

Because it was a subdomain there was no messing about with registrar stuff, so I expected it to be online within 24 hours. It wasn't. I waited a week and it still wasn't available with the real URL so I raised a helpdesk ticket. They fixed it. Woohoo.

But, hel-lo, it shouldn't have needed fixing in the first place. They should have done the DNS stuff by default, as a normal part of setting up the account.

*sighs tiredly*

And, although I could send mail from the webmail system on the acct I couldn't receive any mail, and the alias-forwarders I'd set up weren't forwarding (but taking up to three days to bounce), and I tested this from all my other addresses (of which I have far too many, though at least most of them are "only webmail")... just to be sure it wasn't my ISP fucking up... and I raised a helpdesk ticket... and they have not fixed it, and in fact they don't seem to be able to figure out what the problem is.

Which is not at all reassuring.

So I'm cancelling that account.

I had some other space - similar deal (subdomain, paid, no ads, etc) - but I've been using it for something, so in order to fit in reviews (because it's a lot less space than the other one) I had to delete all of that, and meantimes I decided I wanted it to exist somewhere else, so I've been trying to find a new home for that stuff and meantimes there's an apology page in that space, so the reviews site isn't up yet... and I also feel that I should get this, my own diary, up-to-date before I start going around criticising others'.

Eventually, eventually.

Sigh.

• Design. As in layout. As in it amazes me that I've kept this design for so long. Partly I s'pose that's coz I haven't updated in about 2 weeks... Erm.

Anyway, the last few days, the most productive I've been (when I haven't been sleeping)... er, no, the grammar of that doesn't work. The last few days I've been at my most productive making new layouts.

Actually what I wanted to do was modify this one a little - change a couple of the pics in the title graphic, change the bgcolor and other colours to suit, mess with the line height some, etc.

That was The Plan.

It didn't pan out because I couldn't find the .psd file from which the .jpg was derived, and I did not feel like making it again from scratch... so I let my imagination off the leash and watched it run around, yapping and chasing its tail... and came up with four-and-a-half (or let's just call it five) quite lovely designs in almost no time at all (though I haven't done the coding for any of them yet).

Except I think I really should update before I change the layout. I really should.

Two of the designs are so gorgeous (imho) I just wanna eat them all up. ;)

I think the greyish one would taste like meringue and the purple one, strangely, would taste like spinach.

*giggles*

It's gonna be the purple one. I just have to do the code.

Oh, after I update.

Yeah.

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]