email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
two things
17:21 Mon 2 June 03

a) design

I had intended to put up a new layout as of May, but with April and May gone down the gurgler and me having this little policy of not changing layouts "in the middle of a month" I'll stick with this one for June and change it in time for July.

And now I'm not even sure I'm going to go with the purple ("tastes like spinach") layout mentioned previously. I still like it, I still think it's damn sexy, but I only got halfway through coding it (er, 3 weeks ago) and it's gonna have the same problem this one does - not really suited to longer entries (also uses a scrolly div, in other words). So what I will most likely do is either make something completely new or else munge this one to do away with the scrolly div.

Meantimes the "last 5" are back on the template since private entries are there rather than here, so no longer will I have that irritation of a private entry showing up in the last 5 and with the incorrect URL (ie missing the "/private").

So there is still no "previous" link (see what I said in info if you don't know why I eschew that navigation) but I compromise on that matter by having the "last 5", so at least you'll know if I've added more than one entry on any given day (and gives you the means to go there without passing through the archives first).

Which should please everybody (as much as it is possible to "please everybody").

b) wickedness

On my part. Pure, utter, wickedness.

See, I wanted to change my username. I wasn't happy with 'neeena' (I got confused about how many Es I'd typed, for starters). So I got this new account, zero9, and transferred all the previous entries into it, and locked it temporarily "until I got April up-to-date". Which of course never happened (or not properly, anyway).

And I decided it would be simpler and cheaper to keep 'neeena' on Gold and not put this one on Gold. Images and private entries go in 'neeena' and it's "business as usual" over here.

Except earlier this afternoon I was trying to update (whoa! me update?? wow!) and kept being frustrated by the "server overloaded" page so I checked my available balance on the credit card that's linked to my paypal account and was horrified to discover a mere $18.33 therein. So I availed myself of Maddy's paypal cookies again. Without asking first. (Although I was fairly sure she wouldn't mind and I made it only 3 months, so about $20 AUD.) And then I SMS'd her about it and she SMS'd back that it was okay (see 0401b for the backstory to this reference).

Because I'm impatient, see. If I actually have entries to upload I want to upload them, like NOW. ;)

Because I'm impatient. Cat in a former life, all that.

^..^

Anyway.

All I wanted was the Gold privelige of not getting that "server overloaded" page...

But then I realised I could start a diaryring, the "need" for which I thought of yesterday while browsing the other starts-with-Z usernames on here - for diarylanders whose username includes the word zero. Neato, hey. :)

Because there really are quite a lot of "zero people".

But, yes, I am pathetic. Pathetic, and not very honourable, in some ways.

So now, to "justify" having taken Gold on a second account, I really need to update faithfully. At least an entry a day, in other words.

No more slacking for me... we hope. Someone please hit me if I fall behind again.

Thank you. :)

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]