email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
dream fragments
17:24 Wed 4 June 03

  • I was with Pav, who looked about 5 or 6, and I was supposed to be teaching her to sew. I was making a big deal about threading the needle, then it didn't go any further. Also something about a cat and an old-fashioned pram.

    Later we were at my old primary school, up on some kind of scaffolding, but watching a play put on by the teachers from my high school. "This is where I went to school when I was your age," I said to Pav, then confused her by pointing out my year 9 science teacher, who seemed to be a character from Hamlet.

    Then I saw my year 12 English teacher and was amazed that he hadn't aged at all, so I whipped out my camera to take a picture. As soon as I powered on it made a strange whirring noise and wouldn't let me depress the shutter. I opened up the back of it, despite knowing it was a digital camera, to find I'd put in a roll of black-and-white film that had somehow turned into a big loop and so wasn't winding on properly. I was annoyed.

  • I was trying to do something on the computer, which then turned into a CCTV station thingy, and I was amusing myself by looking around a plush foyer (like in an old-fashioned "gentlemen's club") using a trackball to move the camera. Then it turned into something like a video game, where, instead of looking around a room from a remote location, I was in the room and the trackball controlled my movements.

    So I looked all around the foyer area, turning through 360 degrees, then found a corridor and went down that, except everything was kinda dark and blurry like the graphics card wasn't keeping up with the animation. Then I was in something like a reading room in a library. Many big tables, some chairs occupied by silent people looking at colour plates in folio books or reading newspapers.

    Continued on. Another dark blurry corridor, then I was at the top of a long and slightly disjointed flight of stairs (at least 50 steps). The steps and the handrail were white. At the bottom I could see something like a shopping centre and rolled the trackball forward to go down. Given I knew it was just a VR game I went way too fast, so that when I reached the bottom I had to back up a little, only I hadn't got the hang of the controls and I went back up the stairs a little way (and backwards). Came back down the stairs and turned right and went up an escalator and found myself in a uni corridor.

    Somehow got the idea it was Monash in Melbourne, where my cousin Steph works. Started looking around for her department so I could surprise her, maybe take her to lunch. Couldn't find it. Passed several "classrooms" and noticed that there were shelves in the corridor outside where everyone had to leave their bags. There were very few backpacks or student-type bags and most of them were totally impractical little white handbags. A couple of them even had "for sale" signs on them.

    Kept moving, hoping to at least get outside and find a sign or something which would confirm I was at Monash. Found my way out eventually. There were fake cobblestones and a fountain and lots of people. Passed a donut shop I "remembered" Steph telling me about. Somehow acquired a large package, about waist-high to me and maybe 10cm thick. It was wrapped in brown paper that kept coming undone.

And now it's raining. :(

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]