email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
looks toxic
21:15 Mon 9 June 03

song in my head:
We are not going to make it - The Presidents of the United States of America

Public holiday today - Queen's Birthday Long Weekend, see. Didn't get up to much. Worked on the moo-review renovations, helped Anna with a minor problem with H's former band's website, read a bit, slept a bit.

H rang in the evening for a few minutes. Not much was said. Nils also rang but I was cranky so I said I'd ring him back tomorrow.

One of my neighbours came by in the late afternoon. I wondered who'd be ringing the doorbell on a public holiday (knowing it wouldn't be a surprise visit from H because he was working). Happily it wasn't Jehovah's Witnesses or another moron from Optus Cable. ;)

His sister, he said, had given him this jar of green powder, in the interests of his health, except he couldn't stand the taste and would I like to try it... otherwise it was going in the bin. Hmmm, wheat grass powder... Yeah, okay, I'll try it. Thanks.

I've heard of wheat grass juice but haven't tried it. Having bovine tendencies I can hardly be squeamish about drinking pureed grass - it's just the cost puts me off, something like $3 for a 50ml shot. That makes it more expensive than a shot of the cheapest possible scotch at the cheapest possible pub, and I could do without developing a taste for something else expensive.

So here it was in powder form. Instructions said it could be sprinkled on cereal or salads, used in cold sauces or else mixed in with a cold liquid.

Put two teaspoons in with a glass of cranberry juice and gave it a good stir. It went a very Troma kind of toxic green. A very green green, if you follow. Not actually glowing, but obviously green. Strange. I would have thought cranberry red plus green would have made brown, but, no, it made green. Vivid cut-grass green. Hmmm.

Thing is, it's very nice. :)

One serve of this a day may actually improve my health. It's a scary thought.

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]