email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
ingredients
23:51 Wed 18 June 03

Stayed up way late last night/early this morning, primarily reading a lot of you-are-here and unwittingly. Got to bed around 5.30am, only to be woken by the doorbell at 9.15. I was having an interesting dream, too, and I wish I'd written it down at the time coz all I can remember now is that my friend Lisa from 8th grade was getting married and I saw Cathy D in the wedding procession, then everyone gathered in a round room and read stuff out and I got the idea it was a diaryland convention or awards ceremony, whereupon I was confused. Hmmm. Anyway, the doorbell rang and I grumped out of bed and down the hall and opened the door... but there was nobody there. So I went back to bed.

Got up eventually. Had a shower, drank tea, read the paper. Rang Nils about 1pm (did leave a message last night that I wouldn't be available today, then changed my mind) and arranged to meet for coffee at 3 at Bizzy Lizzy's, which used to be CB's.

Put the bin out then played games on the puter til it was time to leave. Just caught a bus - which is so much nicer than just missing a bus - and was amazed to discover travel was free til 4pm (something to do with our troops returning from wherever it is they've been - probably Iraq or East Timor).

Nils asked what I'd been up to.

me: Oh, I had a domestic attack and did the dishes.
him: How long since you last did them?
me: Ah... a while.
him: No, how long?
me: Ummm, two months.
him: Really?
me: Yeah, it's disgusting, I know.
him: I can relate, though. So what got you motivated?
me: I figured I'd been ignoring them long enough, long enough so they'd know I was displeased with them.

He laughed. Yes, I did think I was rather witty. ;)

Ordered coffees and he gave me back a CD I'd forgotten he'd borrowed.

I commented on his haircut. He commented on something new around my neck.

me: It's not actually new, just I had to change the cord. The old one came unravelled - while I was washing up, actually - and the whole thing plopped into the sink.
him: What colour was the old one?
me: Black. I thought I had a spare black one but I couldn't find it, only this pinky one and a red one, and I thought no way was I wearing red, so it had to be the pink one.
him: It's more purple than pink. What's it made of?
me: Kinda the same thing as shoelaces, I think.
him: So it's cloth?
me: I guess. Thread, of some sort.

Then he went off on a tangent about how, if shoelaces were made of some kind of animal by-product, and that animal became extinct, everybody's shoes would fall off because there'd be no more shoelaces. *shrug*

(The thing around my neck is a cord from which hangs a pendant. I wear two pendants; one on a cord and one on a chain.)

He talked about his parents for a bit. They're just back from an overseas holiday and while they were away he house-sat for them for a week, and now his father's a bit annoyed because Nils changed some settings on the computer.

I made vague references to H. Nils doesn't like H. Nils patted my hand. Yerm.

The service was faster than under the old CB's staff and the coffee was pretty good, too. Then I got a rush of lightheadedness because I hadn't eaten yet, and had to grip the table so as not to sway around. That's when I noticed the table didn't wobble. The old tables wobbled. I was impressed by the wobble-less new tables. ;)

So then we talked about food and I decided that on the way home I would use the $20 H gave me last night to buy the wherewithall for salad and actually feed myself properly for a change (of the $50 Alice gave me last week, $27 went on getting my script refilled, about $10 on sanitary products and the rest on basic thingies like bread, milk, eggs, bus fare and newspapers).

He said he'd like to take me out for lunch on the weekend. This would almost be a date, since he wants to pay for me. Well, when I'm solvent again I'll reciprocate, then it'll be more like "going Dutch" and less like a date. Coz, you know, I can't date Nils when I'm with H.

(Not that I'd want to anyway; been there, done that.)

And he paid for my coffee, too. He didn't have to but I appreciated it anyway.

Then we walked up the road a ways and made a tentative arrangement for me to do his laundry on the weekend. I guess if I do his laundry and he takes me out for lunch (and pays) it evens out. Still, if he took his stuff to the laundromat it would be cheaper than taking me out to lunch. Hmmm.

So he said he'd ring me Saturday and he headed off home while I crossed the road to get a bus. Got off at the top of Emma St and went to the greengrocers rather than the supermarket (coz the latter looked pretty crowded). Got lettuce, cucumber, tomatoes, a couple of avocados and a Spanish onion, then my eye alighted on the most beautiful fat mandarines I have ever seen - four of those were a kilo (oh, my!). To this added three bananas and a punnet of strawberries. So then I had the wherewithall for a regular green salad (avocado goes on toast, see) and a very nice fruit salad for afters. Woohoo!

Staggered home. Made a cup of tea. Rewashed some of the cutlery that didn't really seem to be clean after the first washing. Ate a tomato. Went online and did four reviews. Ate an avocado.

And now either I make that green salad (better late than never) or else I go to bed.

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]