email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
dream
21:24 Tue 8 April 03

I was at a pub or nightclub. There were a number of performers off in a little room to one side. There wasn't space for an audience in front of the stage. I was sitting in the main room at right-angles to the door to the little room but somehow I could see some of the acts in a mirror off to my left. One of these was Boy George, who had supposedly had gender reassignment and was performing as a woman (a fairly attractive one, too, other than the hair). His/her feature song was about how it was so hard to "come out", then s/he got married and the husband didn't want to have sex with her so she had to pleasure herself artificially.

I'd got as far as going what the ...? when a new performer started - wearing very dark clothes, with very shaggy hair, and running on a treadmill at the same time as singing. I realised it was Jon English. I thought maybe I was in the wrong place and I should leave.

Outside it was kinda rocky and barren - a very large industrial wasteland. I was speeding along the road (which was grey bitumen) and all I could see lots of heavy metal types queueing up. Must be something on... I said to myself, thinking vaguely that Boy George(ette) might get beaten up.

Then I was somewhere with DQ. We were looking down a city street to a building where we were supposedly staying. There was smoke coming out the window and we could see people doing some kind of fire drill. We didn't know if it was for real or not. DQ was worried about his camera.

Very briefly I was back in the pub/nightclub. I was sitting on a black stool but feeling self-conscious because of my outfit, which was kinda stretchy T-shirt material, all black, and had a shortish skirt. Put the stool off to one side and found a regular chair. Sam, one of my friends from high school, appeared, and we had some kind of conversation.

Finally I was in some little hick town somewhere, supposedly on a backpacking holiday with DQ. The town was having a festival and some of the people were in costume. I went into a pub, looking for DQ. A policeman walked in another door and a skinny guy who was naked apart from boxer shorts, desert boots and an imitation "English bobby" hat with a light on top, shielded his face from view and walked out (with his beer in hand). I expected the copper to go after him but he didn't.

Still looking for DQ I walked out of town til I found the bus stop. The bus came and DQ got off. I was going to ask why he didn't meet me in town when he said the (other) building we'd stayed in had burnt down and he'd lost his camera. I was going to remind him that I'd lost all my gear too but didn't want him to think I was being petty, so I didn't. He said I'd have to make my own travel arrangements from then on.

I was going to walk but along came a red sports car driven by Berry, with Joe in the passenger seat. I was still in the black stretch outfit and had the horrors about what they would say. I hoped they wouldn't recognise me but of course they did, and once Berry told me to get in the back I felt compelled to obey, even though I was sure Berry would rape me and Joe wouldn't do anything about it.

We ended up back in the hick town and I went into a sports centre to get away from them. The woman behind the counter listened to my story then let me escape via the back entrance, which led to a dirt track. I was leaning against a hedge, getting my breath, when I saw a family of fur seals at the intersection of the dirt track and another track which was less rough. They were being shepherded by a tall old guy with a weathered face, wavy half-grey hair down to his shoulders, wearing a dark blue robe that had long sleeves and came down to his ankles. I thought this was very odd.

They seemed to be waiting to cross or turn into the track I was on and I looked to see what they were waiting for (maybe for me to get out of the way) and I saw a huge light-brown animal, maybe some kind of bear but shaggy like an Afghan (dog), chasing a medium-size dog up the track. The bear-thing was about 20 feet high at the shoulder and the dog might have come up to my knee. I leaned into the hedge as they passed within a few inches of me. The bear-thing continued to chase the dog across the road behind me until it finally nipped it a few times on the leg and the dog was nearly run over by a car.

...

Just want to say that although I would probably classify almost any of my dreams as "weird" that the above is fairly typical - there's no apparent reason why I would dream any of that. However, dreaming about Berry without actually having seen or thought about him specifically prior to the dream is really disturbing. As there's no cast list (yet) I should explain that Berry is the ex of someone who was my best friend in my late teens. The friendship died an unnatural death because after a certain point Berry was always propositioning me and sometimes quite forcefully, and he'd manipulate me into situations where I had to be alone with him for hours... and my friend was oblivious, and when I told her, she didn't believe me and said I was just trying to break them up because I was "jealous or something". I last saw her, IRL, about four years ago when I ran into her unexpectedly at the shops. I last saw Berry, IRL, about 2 years ago, ditto ditto.

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]