email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
today
23:43 Fri 4 April 03

The most interesting thing I did today was create a diaryring, always-on.

The most productive thing I did today was have a conversation with my mother.

There was also a brief call from H (the inclement weather is interfering with his transport arrangements) and a longer one from Nils (we're meeting for coffee tomorrow morning).

And the rest of the time I was either asleep or online.

When I was alseep I dreamed, but I forget the details now. It was a good sleep until my bladder woke me (typical), and then I couldn't get back to sleep (typical), so I went online (typical).

Most of the time I spent online was applied to seeking out and bookmarking diary review sites. This is abnormal behaviour - I am scared of review sites. So.. why.. was.. I.. ??!!? I don't know. It must be the weather.

Before I decided to go review-site-hunting I read some more of frostopia - currently up to late 2001 (I decided to start at the beginning).

Then something made me think of review sites and I'm sure I had a reason, like, something I wanted to check, and I went haring off to find review sites and must have looked at about thirty but only bookmarked about a dozen: Bop-Reviews, curve reviews, Diamond Views, dork-reviews, KC-Reviews, Peach Review, Reviews 4 U, Spanking Reviews, Starwalk Reviews, The Reviewer and Wild Reviews.

The thing that bothered me about many of the review sites I looked at was the hypocrisy (as perceived by me) - usually under "scoring", something about "if your text is hard to read" and "if your spelling and grammer is bad" [sic] ... and these sites would have dark red text on a black background and "you" instead of "your" and "your" instead of "you're" and ...frankly, I don't think the number of "extras" a person has slapped on their site has anything to do with how good their actual writing may be.

*rolls eyes*

Or maybe I'm just fussy.

And since I have only ever requested a review once in all the 7+ years I have been online I probably have no right whatsoever to pass judgement like this.

Oh, and the other thing that made me cringe was the typical age of reviewers - I could find only one over 20 and the rest seemed to be about 16.

So maybe I secretly want to be reviewed... but I'm afraid. I'm afraid, or just leery of being judged by people that much younger than me. People who grew up with this weird-but-amazing internet thingy. People who could out-design me in three minutes flat. People whose normal written "English" reads like an undefined list of acronyms.

Or... or maybe I secretly want to do my own reviews site.

*frowns*

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]