email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
(untitled)
20:17 Sat 5 April 03

reading: Clay's Ark - Octavia E Butler

H had wanted to come by last night to collect the bed so he'd have something to sleep on at James' (the bed he was using at K's came with the room - he hasn't had his own bed since 98 sometime) but it was raining so he couldn't, so he left me a voicemail saying he'd fetch it today, "late morning", so I had to reschedule the coffee arrangement with Nils.

It got to about 11am and I hadn't heard from H so I rang him and he said he was just about to ring me. Could be true. :) He said he'd be over within the half hour, so I dragged the bed parts up the hallway, leaving just enough room for me to squeeze through to the front door.

It had stopped raining and by the time he turned up it was almost hot (in full sunlight, anyway). We loaded up the frame and the slats then had fun struggling for about 10 minutes to strap the mattress onto the top of K's car (he doesn't have his own at the moment). He was apologetic about not being able to stay but I said it was perfectly fine since I had to go out anyway. He probably assumed I was lunching with Alice but if he'd asked I would have said it was coffee with Nils. I have nothing to hide, thank goodness (although Nils keeps pestering me to dump H and get back with him - sometimes I'm not sure if he's serious but if he ever starts really pressuring me I'll be telling him in no uncertain terms to back off).

I had intended to take off the remains of the nail polish (it had flaked off in places on my left hand and cracked/ruckled on two nails on my right - no doubt because I didn't use a base coat) but I saw suddenly that my puter was showing the wrong time and I would have to leave straight away. Needed to get to an ATM, too. Grrr.

Took the bus up to K street and wasted five minutes trying to get one of the bank ATMs to recognise my card. Gave up and used the ATM in the pub, then as I came out Nils walked right past me and didn't seem to hear me call his name. He was walking a lot faster than I could so I didn't catch up to him til he was coming back out of the café where we were meeting.

Found a table and deliberated for 15 minutes over what we were having (he'd decided he wanted to eat), then he ordered soup and I had a burger with salad (and a coffee, and a coke - unfortunately they don't have vc there, though).

Now of course I can't remember a damn thing we talked about. :(

I was taking too long - for his liking - finishing my meal, so he paid for his half and left me to finish mine while he went up the street to get a few things. I was going to wait for him there but I got cold so I paid and walked partway up the street til I found a patch of sunlight to stand in (it had become much cooler and windy and this café is open to the street). Then we went to the Townie and had a couple of drinks - and again, I can't remember what the hell we talked about. My memory is absolutely dreadful. *sniffle*

The music there was annoying us so we went to the cocktail bar at the next pub up. Again, the content of the conversation escapes me. Wah.

I would have preferred to have gotten home before dark so I could bring in my washing but we spun out that last drink until it was just getting dark, so I didn't get back til after 7 sometime. Flip.

As I was coming down my street I saw Jerry's cats sitting on the wall - Vic and Nick and Chris and Belzy. Patted all except Belzy, coz all she wanted to do was roll around on the ground and flash her furry tummy at me. Heee.

Closed all the windows I opened this morning and had one of my pies and poured myself a glass of wine & soda and sat down to finish reading Mind of My Mind... and now I think I'm gonna go to bed.

*zzzzz*

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]