email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
picking up the pieces
08:03 Mon 7 April 03

Picking up the pieces of other people's lives. Pieces - literally. I'm talking about found objects. :)

Exerted a little discipline on myself last night and did a full backup. I should probably do this daily but I consider it a minor miracle if I remember to do it weekly. Then went to bed, so for once I was in bed before midnight (it would have been about 11pm, actually).

Dreamed I was working at K&K. I don't remember the details now, which annoys me, but Mr O'Keefe was explaining something to me and Mr Atkinson was being a weirdo as usual.

Woke up a little before 7, wondering why I felt half-decent. Well, duh, I slept a lot yesterday and I went to bed at something like a "normal" hour. Duh.

Got my first cup of tea for the day and played Tetris until it seemed like I might fall asleep again. Took my pills, but the wrong dosage. Whoops. Well, it won't kill me, maybe just make me a little jittery today. Yergh. Rather than fall asleep at my desk I went up to the 7-11 for bread and cigs. It's another nice sunny day. Woohoo. :)

And it was on my way back down the street that I saw three pieces of broken crockery, probably part of a dinner plate. I was attracted first by the colours - yellow and green and purple, and when I bent down to peer at them I saw a little squiggly line along the edge of two of the pieces. "Kewl. I'll have those." I chirped, and put them in my pocket.

It's a terrible thing to be a hoarder. It's a terrible thing to have difficulty ignoring miscellaneous junk lying on the street. Put those two together and you get... me.

I get the inclination from my mother. Well, both my parents, I guess. They were both hoarders, although my father would have called himself A Collector. My mother knew she was a hoarder and even went so far as to joke about Scavenging. I just wish she hadn't gone through rubbish bins in public when we were out. *shudders*

She doesn't do it now, of course. Now my parents have separated she's free to keep whatever for as long as she likes. I think she has enough junk now to last the rest of her life, so she doesn't do the Bag Lady Scavenge any more.

For the record I would like to state that I have never gone through a rubbish bin in search of anything still useable. I limit my insanity to "found objects" and whatever I can buy with spare change at the op shop. Although I'm not a knick-knacks kinda girl and I don't as a rule like ornaments. So what do I do with all this crap I collect? Oh, just keep it. Sometimes play with the things I've collected. Sometimes take photos of them or scan them and use them for layouts. Sometimes even make something with them. But mostly just keep 'em.

And now I think I should do a load of washing. My sheets are looking kinda grubby.

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]