email :: info :: cast :: extras :: diaryrings :: archives ::
sluggish
17:24 Mon 16 June 03

Forced myself out of bed at about 8 this morning, reasoning that I'd had plenty of sleep and no excuse for still feeling tired. Had two cups of tea and played games on the puter til I felt like my eyes were tracking, then spent three hours making various phone calls to do with the loan that didn't come through on Thursday as expected.

Firstly rang the lenders and insisted on speaking to the manager. He said the person who'd rung to say I'd been approved was a junior staff member who had misunderstood a couple of things, and if I would refer to page blah blah in the contract I would see that it takes a minimum of five business days after receiving final approval before I receive the money. Therefore it could not possibly have been last Thursday because I only got approval last Tuesday.

Right. Fair enough. I should have thought to check the contract anyway.

Then tried to arrange an overdraft thingy for my visa card, but they wouldn't let me do it over the phone and I didn't feel like wasting half a day to do it over the counter, so that was a waste of 17 minutes (14 of which were spent on hold).

Then followed H's "advice" regarding "some kind of financial Ombudsman". Finding out who to contact took seven phone calls, then I spent I-don't-know-how-long on hold to three separate places, including the consumer advisory board, finding out whether I was eligible to get assistance. Long story short, I now have three financial regulatory bodies interested in my case, and if the money doesn't come through on Thursday (well, a, I'm fucked, and b, H is fucked) they will intervene, with one being an investigative body whose primary function is to prevent lending institutions from selling mortgagees' properties "without due cause".

Which scares the hell outta me. (What, they could SELL my house without even giving me the $5k I'm supposed to be borrowing???)

Deep breath. Deeeeep breath.

Rang H to give him a progress report. He was pleased I'd got up off my arse and done something about it. He thanked me profusely for helping him out. He apologised for having been weird on the phone over the weekend. He said he'd call me after work.

Went online for 3+ hours and managed to do one review and otherwise catch up on all my reads. Meantimes 9 new requests came in, plus one that was bereft of name, email and username, so obviously I'm not going to be doing that one. Hmph.

RECENT ENTRIES
farewell
hasta la vista
an explanation
very bad karma
this little piggy...



feeling rather...


photo & layout copyright 2003: Nina, [email protected]